Memories are magical

Taking the free Blogging 101 class has already transformed my blog format with only half of the assignments completed. I’m pleased with the changes so far.

This morning I visited the blog, http://yourbiography2.com/blog/ and responded to her question, “What games did you play as a child?” about my memories of the school playground on a warm spring day. Isn’t it impressive how easily we can ‘see’ details as accurately as a photograph, whether those details ever existed or not?  Reflecting on that playground image lead me to re-title my blog.

“Two tree trunks and a hammock” brings up a memory I don’t have — it belongs to my husband because I wasn’t even there. He’s laying in the hammock, quietly swinging back and forth, listening to water gently splashing against the rocks in the pond. It’s not quite twilight. Looking up, way up, is a ceiling of pine boughs from the remaining plantation pines that are over 40 years old.

What a surprise it must have been for him to see hundreds of monarch butterflies flutter toward him, land overhead on the trunks and limbs of those huge white pines and quietly close their wings together to camouflage their beauty and blend in with the bark. He was up early the next day to leave for work and the butterflies had already moved on as quickly as they arrived.

I have always envied my husband for having this one-in-a-lifetime experience.  

Leave a Reply

